Elisa Harkins

May 26 and 27, 2023

Wampum / ᎠᏕᎳ ᏗᎦᎫᏗ 

© Ian-Byers-Gamber

Tulsa (USA)

Music

Presented in Cherokee, English & Muscogee

May 26, 2023: 7:30pm

May 27, 2023: 7:30pm

An act of Indigenous Futurism, Wampum / ᎠᏕᎳ ᏗᎦᎫᏗ is the electronic music project of Elisa Harkins. Singing in Cherokee, Mvskoke, and English languages, Harkins becomes a language guardian, fighting extinction whilst crafting a head-bouncing beat. Combining disco and phonological preservation, Harkins strives to decolonize expectations of how pop music should look and sound, while bringing Indigenous representation to the field. In Harkins’ cosmos, pressed vinyl and radio play become radical tools of language conservation and transmission.

This performance of Wampum / ᎠᏕᎳ ᏗᎦᎫᏗ refers to wampum belts and Indigenous peacekeeping, as well as the Cherokee use of wampum beads as currency. ᎠᏕᎳ ᏗᎦᎫᏗ, pronounced a-de-la di-ga-gu-di, can be translated to “money on a string.” The intention of this Wampum / ᎠᏕᎳ ᏗᎦᎫᏗ performance is to create a metaphorical peacekeeping agreement between the spectators of the piece, regardless of tribe or race.

credit

Performer: Elisa Harkins | Sound Engineer: Mark Kuykendall

about the box office

rates 22.23

regular | $28

reduced | $22 – seniors (65 and more) & students: upon presentation of a valid justification document. the discount applies to one (1) person and is not cumulative.

junior & groups | $16 – 14 years old and under, or group of ten (10) and more.

music | $22

accompanying person | $0 – accompanying persons for spectators with a disability. contact the box office for more information.

passeport 4/4 | $68 – four (4) performances of your choice for $68 instead of $112! one (1) ticket per person per performance. all four (4) performances must be booked in the same transaction. the passport is valid for the 21.22 programming only.

buy a passeport 4/4

Elisa Harkins

26 et 27 mai 2023

Wampum / ᎠᏕᎳ ᏗᎦᎫᏗ

© Ian-Byers-Gamber

Tulsa (États-Unis)

Musique

Présenté en Cherokee, Anglais et Muscogee

26 mai 2023 : 19h30

27 mai 2023 : 19h30

Acte de futurisme indigène, Wampum / ᎠᏕᎳ ᏗᎦᎫᏗ est un projet de musique électronique d’Elisa Harkins. Chantant en langues cherokee, mvskoke et anglaise, Harkins se fait gardienne de la langue, combattant l’extinction tout en créant un beat à faire bouger les têtes. Combinant disco et préservation phonologique, Harkins s’efforce de décoloniser les conceptions de la musique pop, tout en y apportant une représentation autochtone. Dans le cosmos de Harkins, les vinyles pressés et la radio deviennent des outils radicaux pour conserver et transmettre la langue.

Cette performance de Wampum / ᎠᏕᎳ ᏗᎦᎫᏗ fait référence aux ceintures de wampum et au maintien de la paix indigène, ainsi qu’à l’utilisation des perles de wampum comme monnaie chez les Cherokees. ᎠᏕᎳ ᏗᎦᎫᏗ, prononcé « a-de-la di-ga-gu-di », peut être traduit par « monnaie sur un fil ». Cette performance cherche à créer un accord de paix métaphorique entre les spectateur·trices de la pièce, indépendamment des tribus ou de la race.

crédit

Interprète : Elisa Harkins | Ingénieur du son : Mark Kuykendall

à propos de la billetterie

tarifs 22.23

régulier | 28 $

réduit | 22 $ – aînés (65 ans et plus) et étudiants : sur présentation d’un justificatif en cours de validité. La réduction s’applique à une (1) personne et n’est pas cumulable.

junior & groupes | 16 $ – 14 ans et moins, ou groupe de dix (10) personnes et plus.

musique | 22 $

accompagnateur-trice | 0 $ – accompagnateur-trice-s pour les spectateur-trice-s ayant un handicap. contactez la billetterie pour plus d’information.

passeport 4/4 | 68 $ – quatre (4) performances au choix pour 68$ plutôt que 112$ ! un (1) billet par personne par performance. les quatre (4) performances doivent être réservées au cours de la même transaction. le passeport est valide pour la programmation 21.22 uniquement.

acheter un passeport 4/4