Préambule

video interviews highlighting the practice of the artists in MAI’s 21.22 season.

7. ĀNANDAṀ

Ephemeral Artifacts: Travis Knights

Ephemeral Artifacts examine le corps dansant en tant que contenant de connaissances incarnées et lieu de transmission dans le temps. Cette édition, qui met en vedette l’artiste de claquettes Travis Knights, explore les liens indélébiles entre le jazz et les claquettes à travers les corps noirs divins.

6. Châu Kim-Sanh (Equivoc’)

BLEU NÉON

In a distant, fictional Vietnam, the echoes of pop music on cassette tape reverberate against the sounds of modern Vietnamese rap. Châu Kim-Sanh inhabits this space, metamorphosing through bodily states generated by the presence of coloured neon lights.

5. Maria Kefirova

backs boxes towels

backs boxes towels began as a search for sensation. Kefirova’s performance departs from this desire to build space through physicality and to make sound visible.

4. Manolis Antoniou (Boulouki Theatre)

The Futur Is Another Country

Collectively conceived, the work is a kaleidoscopic dinner party of sorts, where scripted and improvised conversations about the origins and preparation of food lead to dialogues about citizenship, identity, immigration, borders, xenophobia, utopia.

3.   Edon Descollines et Catherine Bouregois

Le magasin ferme

Joe Jack & John and Edon Descollines presents Le magasin ferme, a short piece merging performance art, installation, spoken word, dance, video and visual imagery.

2. Élian Mata (Productions EM)

Trajectoires

Trajectoires is a performance installation involving eight collaborators. Moving through this rich, moving tableau that deals with the nuance and complexity of being human, the audience encounters these living works of art embodied by the performers.

1. farah atoui and viviane saglier

making revolution : collective histories, desired futures

Making Revolution explores the forms of struggle and revolution in the Middle East and North Africa through video art and installation.

20.21

12. Daphne Boyer

otipemisiwak

Otipemisiwak* celebrates the lives and material cultures of three women: the artist’s great grandmother, Eléanore; her grandmother, Clémence; and her mother, Anita. Showcasing recent process-based works on paper, textile and 360º animation, works feature a digital-beading technique the artist invented called ‘Berries to Beads’.

11. Hoda Adra

Les formes qui nous traversent

Les formes qui nous traversent unearths thirty hand-written log books recording a long period of isolation. Imagined and created by the spoken-word poet Hoda Adra, this film-concert sees her take the stage after leaving the land of Brumania, a fictitious country where pink blobs choke the voices of its people .

10. Gabriel dharmoo / Bijuriya

Bijuriya’s drag cabaret

This Drag Cabaret presents numbers that range in style from calypso, Bollywood (vintage, glamorous and/or psychedelic), to baroque opera and… the odd vocalizations of imaginary creatures

9. johanna nutter & nadia myre

strike/thru + a casual reconstruction

𝐀 𝐂𝐚𝐬𝐮𝐚𝐥 𝐑𝐞𝐜𝐨𝐧𝐬𝐭𝐫𝐮𝐜𝐭𝐢𝐨𝐧 + 𝐒𝐓𝐑𝐈𝐊𝐄 / 𝐓𝐇𝐑𝐔 is a double-bill interdisciplinary encounter between two old friends from Tiohtià:ke/Mooniyang/Montreal. 

8. ralp escamillan

fakeknot (ralph escamillan) / whip

“whip” is a 60-minute duet set in the round, performed with leather hoods that disguise performers faces and also inhibiting their sight for the entirety of the work.

7. sonia bustos & ariana pirela sánchez

support cam + may

In this episode, we explore the journey and projects of dancers Sonia Bustos and Ariana Pirela Sanchez.

6. Cyndi Charlemagne

Soul Whisper, put forth by the Haitian-Quebecoise singer, author, and composer Cyndi Charlemagne, is a soul-jazz musical performance where poetry and song share notes.

For Charlemagne, this soul whisper evokes our innermost thoughts, the intuition that allows us to stay connected to ourselves through both joyful and trying times. The spoken poems help set the stage for songs that dig deep into the expressive richness of jazz and soul.

5. Heather Mah

Pomegranate is a solo by veteran Montreal dancer Heather Mah. The performance is an interpretation of her grandmother’s life, a fragmented journey told through stories of family and migration that begin in China in 1895. 

This piece delicately sketches the imagined journey of this woman, who sought to escape her war-torn country but ultimately died there at the age of 60, despite all the efforts made to rescue her.

4. Soleil Launière

Created by Innu interdisciplinary artist Soleil LaunièreSheuetamᵘ is a performative and auditive installation that unfolds continuously over 5 days. The piece convenes the presence of a two-spirit being, caught in conversation with its surrounding territory and technology.

Interweaving the past, the present and the future, this powerful ritual-performance amplifies Indigenous presence and disrupts the narrative of capitalist and colonialist modernity.

3. Diana León

Sur ce chemin, tu es sûre de te perdre is a multidisciplinary solo, somewhere between dance, theatre and music, is the fruit of three collaborations between Diana León and emerging creators Parco Ziel, Jeremy Galdeano and Vera Kvarcakova. Their guiding theme is knowledge of the self and the work necessary – amidst social pressures, inner demons and aspirations – to find one’s own voice. 

With compositions by Alejandro LoredoTom Jarvis and Diana LeónSur ce chemin, tu es sûre de te perdre is a powerful evocation of the pleasure in finding one’s own rhythm, in response to those who surround and inspire us.

2. Live in Palestine

Organised by AXENÉO7 (Gatineau) in collaboration with DAIMON (Gatineau) and A Space Gallery (Toronto), Live In Palestine brings together performance work that asks the viewer to consider how bodies, actions and images produce meaning in particular geopolitical spaces.

Showcasing prominent and emerging contemporary artists currently living and working in Palestine, Live in Palestine focuses on work that combines performative practices with political engagement, addressing some of the complexities of living in occupied Palestine.

1. Kama La Mackerel

Interdisciplinary artist and writer Kama La Mackerel interweaves poetry, storytelling, dance, femme tongues and broken colonial languages in a solo performance that is at once personal and political. ZOM-FAM (meaning “man-woman” or “transgender” in Mauritian Kreol) narrates the story of a gender-creative child growing up in the 80s and 90s on the plantation island of Mauritius.

ZOM-FAM interweaves narratives that bring together ancestral voices, femme tongues, broken colonial languages and a tender queer subjectivity, all of which are grappling with the legacy of plantation servitude.

Préambule

entrevues vidéo inédites mettant en lumière la pratique des artistes faisant partie de la programmation 20.21 de MAI.

12.  Daphne Boyer

Otipemisiwak

Otipemisiwak* célèbre la vie et la culture matérielle de trois femmes : l’arrière-grand-mère de l’artiste, Eléanore, sa grand-mère Clémence, et sa mère Anita. L’exposition, qui donne à voir des œuvres récentes sur papier, textiles et animation 360°, met en lumière une technique de perlage numérique développée par l’artiste et nommée «des baies aux perles».

11. Hoda Adra

Les formes qui nous traversent

Les formes qui nous traversent ressuscite une trentaine de carnets de bord écrits à la main durant un long enfermement. Ce ciné-concert imaginé et porté par la poète de spoken word Hoda Adra, lui fait prendre la scène après son départ d’une fictive Brumanie – où des boules roses dans les gorges étouffent les voix.

10.  Gabriel Dharmoo / Bijuriya

Le Cabaret Drag de Bijuriya

Le Cabaret Drag de Bijuriya nous présente des numéros dont le style varie entre le calypso, le Bollywood vintage, glamour et/ou psychédélique, l’opéra baroque et… les vocalises inusitées de créatures imaginaires.

9. Johanna Nutter & Nadia Myre

Strike/Thru + a Casual Reconstruction

𝐀 𝐂𝐚𝐬𝐮𝐚𝐥 𝐑𝐞𝐜𝐨𝐧𝐬𝐭𝐫𝐮𝐜𝐭𝐢𝐨𝐧 + 𝐒𝐓𝐑𝐈𝐊𝐄 / 𝐓𝐇𝐑𝐔 est un programme double d’une rencontre interdisciplinaire entre deux amies de longue date venant de Tiohtià: ke / Mooniyang / Montréal.

8. Ralp Escamillan

FAKEKNOT (Ralph Escamillan) / whip

“whip” est un duo de 60 minutes qui se déroule dans en cercle et qui est interprété avec des cagoules en cuir qui masquent le visage des interprètes et les empêchent de voir pendant toute la durée de l’œuvre.

7. Sonia Bustos & Ariana Pirela Sánchez

Accompagnement CAM + MAI

Dans cet épisode, nous explorons le parcours et les projets des danseuses Sonia Bustos et Ariana Pirela Sanchez.

6. Cyndi Charlemagne

Soul Whisper, une proposition de la chanteuse, autrice et compositrice québéco-haïtienne Cyndi Charlemagne, est une performance musicale soul jazz où la poésie et le chant se font écho.

Ce « murmure de l’âme » est pour Charlemagne une évocation de nos fors intérieurs, du sentiment intuitif qui nous permet de rester en phase avec nous-mêmes, dans les expériences heureuses comme éprouvantes.

5. Heather Mah

Dans Pomegranate, performance solo de la vétérane montréalaise Heather Mah, la danseuse revisite la vie de sa grand-mère. Il s’agit d’une épopée fragmentée à travers des récits familiaux et migratoires débutant en Chine, en 1895.

L’œuvre dessine tout en délicatesse le parcours imaginé de cette femme, qui, cherchant à fuir son pays natal en plein conflit, y mourra finalement à l’âge de 60 ans, malgré tous les efforts pour la sauver.

4. Soleil Launière

Convoquant la présence d’un être bispirituel dialoguant avec le territoire et un dispositif technologique, Sheuetamᵘ est une installation déambulatoire et sonore créée par l’artiste interdisciplinaire Innue Soleil Launière, qui se déploie continuellement pendant 5 jours.

Entremêlant le passé, le présent et le futur, cette pièce-rituel puissante amplifie la présence Autochtone, déstabilisant le récit de la modernité capitaliste et coloniale. Le public peut s’y immerger à n’importe quel moment de la journée, partir et, s’il le souhaite, revenir.

3. Diana León

Sur ce chemin, tu es sûre de te perdre est un solo multidisciplinaire, entre danse, théâtre et musique, fruit de trois collaborations successives de Diana León avec des créateurs émergents (Paco Ziel, Jeremy Galdeano, Vera Kvarcakova). Leur fil directeur : la connaissance de soi, le travail nécessaire, entre pressions sociales, démons intérieurs et aspirations, pour trouver sa propre voix.

Sur les compositions d’Alejandro Loredo, de Tom Jarvis et de Diana León, une puissante évocation du plaisir de trouver son propre rythme, en écho à ceux qui nous entourent et nous inspirent.

2. Live in Palestine

Organisée par AXENÉO7 (Gatineau) en collaboration avec DAIMON (Gatineau) et A Space Gallery (Toronto), Live In Palestine réunit des œuvres performatives qui demandent au public de se pencher sur la manière dont la rencontre des corps, des actions et des images construit du sens dans des espaces géopolitiques spécifiques. 

Donnant à voir le travail d’artistes contemporains aussi bien émergent-es qu’établi-es qui vivent et travaillent actuellement en Palestine, Live in Palestine déploie des œuvres qui allient les pratiques performatives à l’engagement politique et aborde certaines des complexités de la vie quotidienne en Palestine occupée.

1. Kama La Mackerel

Artiste interdisciplinaire et écrivain-ne, Kama La Mackerel combine poésie, conte, danse, voix féminines et débris de langages coloniaux dans un solo tant personnel que politique : ZOM-FAM (“homme-femme” ou “transgenre” en kréol mauricien) est le récit d’un-e enfant transgenre vivant sur une plantation de canne à sucre à l’île Maurice pendant les années 1980-90.

ZOM-FAM entrenoue une multiplicité de mouvements et d’énonciations au sein d’une narration fluide, invoquant des voix ancestrales, des langues féminines, une poétique décoloniale et une subjectivité queer qui portent une réflexion sur l’héritage du déplacement forcé et de l’esclavagisme sur l’île plantationaire.