Maria Kefirova

September 15 to 18, 2021

backs boxes towels

MONTREAL

DANCE

PRESENTED IN ENGLISH

September 15, 2021: 7:30 p.m.

September 16, 2021: 7:30 p.m.

September 17, 2021: 7:30 p.m.

September 18, 2021: 7:30 p.m.

A knowledgeable person stated that the work Packaging/Wrapping by Christo and Jeanne-Claude, artists known for their large-scale, site-specific environmental installations, was a sort of premonition for the fact that in the center of our existence there is nothing but emptiness.

Maria is not sure about that. Actually, maybe, in the middle of it all, there is sound, a buzz, a whoosh, a blop, a crack.

backs boxes towels began as a search for sensation. Kefirovas performance departs from this desire to build space through physicality and to make sound visible. The work follows her curiosity towards the concept and embodiment of friction and develops through techniques for exteriority involving national anthems, straws, boxes, towels, respect for the ‘backspace’, wallpaper, as well as minimal and maximal dancing.

Skins rub screens. Boxes fill with sounds. Bodies become towels.


Credits : Choreography, performance, video and drawings: Maria Kefirova | Lighting Design: Paul Chambers | Sound Design: Guillaume Létourneau, Maria Kefirova | Set Design: Johan Deschymer, Maria Kefirova | Costumes: Jade Tong-Coung | Dramaturgical support and outside eye: Diego Gil, Hanako Hoshimi-Caines | Outside eye: Noémie Solomon | Visual design consultant: Johan Deschuymer

A co-production of DNK- space for contemporary dance and performance and MAI, with the support of MAI’s residency program.

Maria Kefirova

15 au 18 septembre 2021

backs boxes towels

© Johan Deschuymer

MONTRÉAL

DANSE

PRÉSENTÉ EN ANGLAIS

15 septembre 2021 : 19h30

16 septembre 2021 : 19h30

17 septembre 2021 : 19h30

18 septembre 2021 : 19h30

On a déjà déclaré que l’œuvre Packaging/Wrapping de Christo et Jeanne-Claude – artistes célèbres pour leurs installations environnementales à grande échelle – était une sorte de prémonition du vide qui se trouve au centre de notre existence.

Maria n’en est pas sûre. En fait, peut-être qu’au milieu de tout cela, il y a un son – un bourdonnement, un bruissement, un frémissement, un craquement.

backs boxes towels a commencé comme une recherche de sensations. La performance de Kefirova nait de ce désir de construire un espace par la physicalité et de rendre le son visible. L’œuvre suit le fil de sa curiosité à l’égard du concept et de l’incarnation de la friction. Elle se développe par le biais de techniques d’extériorisation impliquant des hymnes nationaux, des pailles, des boîtes, des serviettes, du papier peint, le respect du « retour arrière », et la danse minimale et maximale.

Les peaux se frottent aux écrans. Les boîtes se remplissent de sons. Les corps deviennent des serviettes.


Crédits : Chorégraphie, performance, vidéo et dessins : Maria Kefirova | Conception lumières : Paul Chambers | Conception sonore : Guillaume Létourneau, Maria Kefirova | Décors : Johan Deschymer, Maria Kefirova | Costumes : Jade Tong-Coung | Support dramaturgie et oeil extérieur : Diego Gil, Hanako Hoshimi-Caines | Oeil extérieur : Noémie Solomon | Conseil à la conception visuelle : Johan Deschuymer.

Une coproduction de DNK- space for contemporary dance and performance et de MAI, avec le soutien du programme de résidences de MAI.