Manolis Antoniou (Boulouki Theatre)

September 28 to October 9, 2021

THE FUTURE IS ANOTHER COUNTRY

© Manolis Antoniou

MONTREAL

THEATRE

PRESENTED IN FRENCH AND ENGLISH

September 28, 2021: 7:30 p.m.

September 29, 2021: 7:30 p.m.

September 30, 2021: 7:30 p.m.

October 1, 2021: 7:30 p.m.

October 2, 2021: 7:30 p.m.

October 4, 2021: 7:30 p.m.

October 5, 2021: 7:30 p.m.

October 6, 2021: 7:30 p.m.

October 7, 2021: 7:30 p.m.

October 8, 2021: 7:30 p.m.

October 9, 2021: 7:30 p.m.

If individualism saturates the present, securing it (but just for some), what will the future be made of? THE FUTURE IS ANOTHER COUNTRY grapples with this question via a single staple: the potato. A storehouse of nutrients and narratives, Boulouki Theatre uses this historically rich root vegetable as a bridge to territory, hospitality, adaptation, settler existence, and the limits of meaning.

Collectively conceived, the resulting work is a kaleidoscopic dinner party of sorts, where scripted and improvised conversations about the origins and preparation of food lead to dialogues about citizenship, identity, immigration, borders, xenophobia, utopia. Inspired by the concept and practice of *philoxenia*—the love of strangers—this event channels communal warmth, togetherness, and uninhibitedness, all whilst holding up a mirror to the polis of Tiohtiá:ke/Montréal.

Boulouki Theatre’s creative universe is defined by themes of cultural difference, accessibility, audience involvement, bringing the outside inside, and the city as a site of stranger-contact.


Credits: Performers : Louis-Elyan Martin, Marika Karlsson, Sophie-Thérèse Stone-Richards | Scenography and Lights: Öykü Önder | Costumes: Sophie El-Assaad | Sound design and performance: Nathan Giroux | Stage manager: Ava Bishop | Poster design: Vasilis Dandelis.

Manolis Antoniou (Boulouki Theatre)

28 septembre au 9 octobre 2021

THE FUTURE IS ANOTHER COUNTRY

© Manolis Antoniou

MONTRÉAL

THÉÂTRE

PRÉSENTÉ EN FRANÇAIS ET ANGLAIS

28 septembre 2021 : 19h30

29 septembre 2021 : 19h30

30 septembre 2021 : 19:30

1 octobre 2021 : 19h30

2 octobre 2021 : 19h30

4 octobre 2021 : 19h30

5 octobre 2021 : 19h30

6 octobre 2021 : 19h30

7 octobre 2021 : 19h30

8 octobre 2021 : 19h30

9 octobre 2021 : 19h30

Si l’individualisme sature le présent, le sécurise (mais seulement pour certain-e-s), de quoi sera fait l’avenir? THE FUTURE IS ANOTHER COUNTRY aborde cette question par le biais d’un aliment de base : la pomme de terre. Entrepôt de nutriments et de récits, Boulouki Theatre utilise ce légume-racine riche en histoire comme un pont pour traiter de territoire, d’hospitalité, d’adaptation, de l’existence des colons et des limites du sens.

L’œuvre qui en résulte est un projet conçu collectivement : une sorte de souper festif kaléidoscopique, où des conversations scénarisées et improvisées sur les origines et la préparation des aliments mènent à des dialogues sur la citoyenneté, l’identité, l’immigration, les frontières, la xénophobie et l’utopie. Inspiré par le concept et la pratique de la « philoxenia » (l’amour des étrangers), cet événement canalise la chaleur communautaire, la convivialité et la désinhibition, tout en tendant un miroir à la polis de Tiohtiá:ke/Montréal.

L’univers créatif de Boulouki Theatre s’articule autour des thèmes de la différence culturelle, de l’accessibilité, de la participation du public, de l’intériorisation de l’extériorité et de la ville comme lieu de contact avec l’autre.


Crédits : Performeur-euse-s : Louis-Elyan Martin, Marika Karlsson, Sophie-Thérèse Stone-Richards | Scénographie et lumières : Öykü Önder | Costumes : Sophie El-Assaad | Conception et performance sonore : Nathan Giroux | Régie : Ava Bishop | Conception de l’affiche : Vasilis Dandelis.

Avec le soutien du programme Intercultural Conversations-Conversations Interculturelles (IC-CI) de la Fondation Cole et du programme de résidences de MAI.