Châu Kim-Sanh (Equivoc’)

April 28 to 30, 2022

BLEU NÉON

MONTREAL

PERFORMANCE

PRESENTED IN VIETNAMESE

April 28, 2022: 7:30 p.m.

April 29, 2022: 7:30 p.m.

April 30, 2022:  2:00 p.m.

April 30, 2022:  7:30 p.m.

In a distant, fictional Vietnam, the echoes of pop music on cassette tape reverberate against the sounds of modern Vietnamese rap. Châu Kim-Sanh inhabits this space, metamorphosing through bodily states generated by the presence of coloured neon lights. Of this evening blue erupts a purpleness: “bầu trời màu tím xẩm” – an uncertain translation. Eyes closed, the neon haze returns her to the sensation of her ancestral land. Saigon, like many cities in South Asia, is flushed with these vivid lights. Here, embodied memory and the imaginary take a ride on a Honda Dream II motorcycle, across a humid sky whose wetness whips the face.
This solo is performed in its entirety from the squat position – a typically Asian posture. Audio recordings bespeckle the choreography, navigating between fantasized nostalgia, loss of language and sexual objectification – all three widely experienced by Asian diasporic populations. In Southeast Asia, rap culture is increasingly popular – giving a voice to a population marked by silence. Rap here is a prayer.


Credits: Choreography & performance : Châu Kim Sanh / Music & rap : Hazy Montagne Mystique, Chittakone Baccam (composition), JONAIR, Duy Quang Vu (paroles rap), Rắn Cạp Đuôi Collective / Rehearsals : Louise Michel Jackson / Dramaturgy : Be Heintzman Hope / Production : Andrea Rideout / Technique & lighting : Jon Cleveland / Video : Guillaume Vallée / Photos : Kinga Michalska.

All BLEU NÉON performances are relaxed performances.

There is a more relaxed attitude to noise and movement within the theatre during the performance. The reception, soundscape and visual atmosphere are adapted to create a calm and inclusive environment. Additional support tools are also made available to the audience, such as a detailed show guide, visual stories, familiarization visits, etc. Relaxed performances (RP) are open to all, and may specifically address the needs of people who identify with a sensory or intellectual disability, a neurological or learning disability, people who experience anxiety, people with newborns or anyone who is uncomfortable with the conventions of a traditional theatre environment.

For more information, visite MAI’s website page Relaxed performances.

Performance guide – BLEU NÉON

The performance guide explains what the show is about, what the themes are, the sensitive subjects as well as the sound and visual effects. It also includes the members of the artistic team, a glossary and details the course of the evening/afternoon.

Visual Story – MAI

The document is designed to help make the experience at MAI accessible and understandable to all people.

With the support of MAI’s residency program.

Châu Kim-Sanh (Equivoc’)

28 au 30 avril 2022

BLEU NÉON

MONTREAL

PERFORMANCE

PRÉSENTÉ EN VIETNAMIEN

28 avril 2022 : 19h30

29 avril 2022 : 19h30

30 avril 2022 : 14h00

30 avril 2022 : 19h30

Dans un Vietnam lointain et fictionnel, se croisent des échos de musique pop sur cassettes et de rap vietnamien actuel. Châu Kim Sanh y traverse des états de corps générés par la présence de néons colorés. De ce bleu du soir qui se transforme en mauve : « bầu trời màu tím xẩm » ~ la traduction est incertaine. Les yeux fermés, ces néons la ramènent à la sensation d’être sur ses terres d’origine. Saigon, comme beaucoup de villes sud-asiatiques est marquée de ces lueurs vives. L’imaginaire et la mémoire corporelle voyagent sur une motocyclette Honda Dream II à travers un ciel dont la moiteur fouette le visage.

Cette création solo est performée intégralement à partir de la position du squat – une posture typiquement asiatique. Des enregistrements audios parsèment la chorégraphie, naviguant entre une nostalgie fantasmée, la perte de la langue et l’objectification sexuelle – tous trois largement vécus par les populations diasporiques asiatiques. En Asie du Sud-Est, le rap est actuellement très populaire – un médium nouveau, qui rend vocale, une population très souvent silencieuse. Le rap est ici prière.


Crédits : Chorégraphie & performance : Châu Kim Sanh / Musique & rap : Hazy Montagne Mystique, Chittakone Baccam (composition), JONAIR, Duy Quang Vu (paroles rap), Rắn Cạp Đuôi Collective / Répétitions : Louise Michel Jackson / Dramaturgie : Be Heintzman Hope / Production : Andrea Rideout / Technique & éclairages : Jon Cleveland / Vidéo : Guillaume Vallée / Photos : Kinga Michalska.

Toutes les performances de BLEU NÉON sont des représentations décontractées.

Les représentations font preuve d’une approche plus détendue envers le bruit, le mouvement et les déplacements dans le théâtre durant le spectacle. L’ambiance sonore et visuelle du spectacle ainsi que l’accueil sont adaptés pour créer un environnement calme et inclusif. Des outils de soutien additionnels sont aussi mis à disposition du public, comme un guide détaillé du spectacle, des visites de familiarisation, un guide de repères visuels du MAI, etc. La représentation décontractée (RD) est ouverte à toutes et tous, et peut répondre plus particulièrement aux besoins des personnes qui s’identifient à un handicap sensoriel ou intellectuel, à un trouble neurologique ou d’apprentissage, à un trouble anxieux, aux personnes accompagnées de nouveau-nés ou à toute personne qui ne se sent pas confortable avec les conventions d’un environnement de spectacle traditionnel.

Pour plus d’informations, visitez le site Représentation décontractée du MAI.

Guide du spectacle – BLEU NÉON

Le guide du spectacle explique en quoi consiste le spectacle, quels sont les thèmes, les sujets sensibles ainsi que les effets sonores et visuels. Il inclût aussi les membres de l’équipe du spectacle, un glossaire et détaille le déroulement de la soirée/après-midi.

Guide de repères visuels – MAI

Ce document peut être utilisé pour aider toute personne à accéder et à comprendre son expérience dans le bâtiment du MAI.

Avec le soutien du programme de résidences de MAI.