Lara Kramer, Ida Baptiste

October 22 to November 19, 2022

Ji zoongde’eyaang

Tiotia:ke / Mooniyang / Montreal

Visual arts / Multidisciplinary

October 22 to
November 19, 2022

Vernissage:
October 22, 2022 3pm

In this collaborative mother-daughter exhibition, Anishinaabe Oji-Cree artists Ida Baptiste and Lara Kramer bring forward their relational practices through generations to express and represent embodied experiences like memory, loss, and reclamation. The title of the exhibition, “Ji zoongde’eyaang”, means “to have a strong heart” in Anishnaabemowin.

The exhibit features older, never shown works of Ida Baptiste from the early 2000’s that draw on her memories of attending Brandon Indian Residential School. It also features a series of contemporary pieces by both artists in various mediums, including photography, video, text and sound.

“This is our practice together. Of labor. Of love. Of love labor. It is a story of resistance, of survivance and of our ongoing presence here on Turtle Island. It is the place where we, with our soft hard loving hands, materialize imagination and dreams to pave a healthier path forward. A practice intended for sharing with future generations.”

Free entrance

From Tuesday to Saturday from 12pm to 6pm.

partnership

A production of Lara Kramer Danse.

Lara Kramer, Ida Baptiste

22 octobre au 19 novembre 2022

Ji zoongde’eyaang

Tiotia:ke / Mooniyang / Montréal

Arts visuels / multidisciplinaire

22 octobre au 19 novembre 2022

Vernissage:
22 octobre, 2022 15h

Dans cette exposition collaborative mère-fille, les artistes anishinaabe oji-cri Ida Baptiste et Lara Kramer mettent de l’avant leurs pratiques relationnelles en traversant les générations pour exprimer et représenter des expériences incarnées comme celles de la mémoire, de la perte et de la revendication. Le titre de l’exposition, Ji zoongde’eyaang, signifie en anishinaabemowin « avoir un cœur fort ».

L’exposition présente des œuvres inédites d’Ida Baptiste, datant du début des années 2000, qui s’inspirent de ses souvenirs du pensionnat pour Autochtones de Brandon. Elle propose également une série d’œuvres contemporaines des deux artistes dans divers médiums, dont la photographie, la vidéo, le texte et le son.

« C’est notre pratique collective. De travail. D’amour. De travail d’amour. C’est une histoire de résistance, de survie, et celle de notre présence continue ici, sur l’Île de la tortue. C’est l’endroit où, avec nos mains douces et dures et aimantes, nous matérialisons l’imagination et les rêves pour paver une voie plus saine vers l’avenir. Une pratique conçue pour être partagée avec les générations futures. »

Entrée libre

Du mardi au samedi de 12h à 18h.

partenariat

A production of Lara Kramer Danse.