Gabriel Dharmoo

March 17 to 19, 2022

Bijuriya

Paul Neudorf & Jonathan Goulet

MONTREAL

DRAG

PRESENTED IN FRENCH

AND ENGLISH

mars 17, 2022: 7:30 p.m.

mars 18, 2022: 7:30 p.m.

mars 18, 2022: 10:00 p.m.

mars 19, 2022: 7:30 p.m.

Gabriel is a music composer and experimental vocalist. Bijuriya is a drag artist engaging with South Asian culture. Gabriel values innovation and risk taking as he navigates Eurocentric artistic scenes. On social media, Bijuriya lip-syncs her way into the hearts of brown queers. Both of them have marginal practices but they have very different audiences. Gabriel and Bijuriya are one person; it’s time to bring them together on one stage. Code-switching between drag performance, original songs, experimental sound design and the porosity between singing and lip-syncing, this piece celebrates the artist’s brownness through an array of unexpected talents. A quirky yet vulnerable exploration of their inadequacy to fully represent the subcultures they seek to embrace.

Credits : Concept and performance: Gabriel Dharmoo (Bijuriya) | Technical Direction: Jon Cleveland | Light Design: Jon Cleveland  | Assistant to Light Design and to Tech Direction: Michael Tonus  | Sound Design: Gabriel Dharmoo (Bijuriya)  | Original songs: Bijuriya and Gabriel Ledoux | Voice, cello, steel pan and harmonium: Bijuriya  | Electric guitar: Gabriel Ledoux  | Additional vocals: Vidita Kanniks  | Costumes: Bijuriya, Julie Pichette, Angela Rassenti  | Wigs: Heaven Genderfck  | Sets accessories: Bijuriya | Stage Assistants: Elizabeth Lima, Keith Fernandez | Additional thanks to: Conseil des arts du Canada, Paul Neudorf, Sarah Albu, Sandeep Bhagwati, Claudia Chan Tak, Noah Drew, Marta Gaspar Carpinteiro, Athena Holmes, Kama La Mackerel, Françoise Major, James O’Callaghan, Julia Martinez Turgeon.


A co-production of Pandemic Theatre, presented as part of Queer Performance Camp, in partnership with LaChapelle Scènes contemporaines and Studio 303, with the support of MAI’s Alliance program and residency program.

Studio 303

Gabriel Dharmoo

17 au 19 mars 2022

Bijuriya

Paul Neudorf & Jonathan Goulet

MONTRÉAL

DRAG PRÉSENTÉ EN FRANÇAIS

ET ANGLAIS

17 mars 2022 : 19h30

18 mars 2022 : 19h30

18 mars 2022 : 22h00

19 mars 2022 : 19h30

Gabriel est compositeur de musique et vocaliste expérimental. Bijuriya est artiste de drag inspirée par la culture Sud-asiatique. Gabriel valorise la prise de risques et l’innovation, évoluant au sein de scènes artistiques eurocentriques. Sur les réseaux sociaux et par le lip-sync, Bijuriya touche le cœur de personnes queer brunes. Bien que Gabriel et Bijuriya aient en commun la marginalité de leurs pratiques, leurs publics sont très différents. Gabriel et Bijuriya sont une seule et même personne ; il est temps de les réunir sur scène. Alternant les codes de la performance drag, des chansons originales, de la conception sonore expérimentale et de la porosité entre le chant et le lip-sync, cette pièce rend hommage à la brunitude de l’artiste en déclinant la gamme de ses talents surprenants. Une exploration décalée et vulnérable de son inaptitude à représenter entièrement leurs sous-cultures.

Crédits : Concept et performance: Gabriel Dharmoo (Bijuriya)  | Direction technique: Jon Cleveland  | Conception lumière: Jon Cleveland  | Assistant à la conception lumière et à la direction technique: Michael Tonus  | Conception sonore: Gabriel Dharmoo (Bijuriya)  | Chansons originales: Bijuriya et Gabriel Ledoux  |  Voix, violoncelle, steel pan et harmonium: Bijuriya | Guitare électrique: Gabriel Ledoux | Voix additionnelles: Vidita Kanniks  | Costumes: Bijuriya, Julie Pichette, Angela Rassenti | Perruques: Heaven Genderfck  | Accessoires de scène: Bijuriya  | Assistant-es de scène: Elizabeth Lima, Keith Fernandez  | Autres remerciements: Conseil des arts du Canada, Paul Neudorf, Sarah Albu, Sandeep Bhagwati, Claudia Chan Tak, Noah Drew, Marta Gaspar Carpinteiro, Athena Holmes, Kama La Mackerel, Françoise Major, James O’Callaghan, Julia Martinez Turgeon.


Une co-production de Pandemic Theatre, présentée dans le cadre de Queer Performance Camp, en partenariat avec LaChapelle Scènes contemporaines et Studio 303, avec le soutien du programme Alliance et du programme de résidence de MAI.

La Chapelle Scenes Contemporaines

Studio 303