Edon Descollines (Joe Jack & John)

October 20 to 23, 2021

Le magasin ferme

Marie Sebire

MONTREAL

PERFORMANCE

PRESENTED IN FRENCH

October 20, 2021: 7:30 p.m.

October 21, 2021: 7:30 p.m.

October 22, 2021: 7:30 p.m.

October 23, 2021: 2:00 p.m.

October 23, 2021: 7:30 p.m.

Through collective writing and an emphasis on self-determination and interdependence, Joe Jack & John dares to confront crucial social issues, with the aim of providing an outlet for voices seldom heard. Borrowing its vocabulary from the worlds of visual arts and dance, the performance theatre company encourages the emergence of free and honest voices, as well as the creation of aesthetic singularities – like those of artists with a disability. This unique political stance provides the esteemed Edon Descollines with a foundation on which to build a work in residence and to present the creative process from start to finish. Visual artist, poet, dancer and actor, the prolific creator presents Le magasin ferme, a short piece merging performance art, installation, spoken word, dance, video and visual imagery. The melancholy and sadness of everyday life is palpable and we are drawn to the nostalgia at its heart: a longing for the pre-internet world, when stores were a theatre of meetings, of possibilities and of shared experience.


Credits: Ideation, co-creation and performance: Edon Descollines | Creative ally, co-creation and performance: Emma-Kate Guimond | Outside eye: Catherine Bourgeois | Sound design: Arthur Champagne | Lighting design: Audrey-Anne Bouchard | Technical direction and stage management: Audrey Belzile | Production management: Pénélope Bourque.

RELAXED PERFORMANCES

This production is part of MAI’s 21.22 relaxed programming. A relaxed performance refers to a show that is open to all – particularly those with a sensory or intellectual disability, or a neurological or learning disorder, and for people accompanied by a newborn. The reception, soundscape and visual atmosphere are all designed to create a calm and inclusive environment. For more information, please contact our box office team.

Guide de repères visuels – Le magasin ferme

Guide de repères visuels – MAI

With the support of MAI’s residency program.

Edon Descollines (Joe Jack et John)

20 au 23 octobre 2021

Le magasin ferme

© Marie Sebire

MONTRÉAL

PERFORMANCE

PRÉSENTÉ EN FRANÇAIS

20 octobre 2021 : 19h30

21 octobre 2021 : 19h30

22 octobre 2021 : 19h30

23 octobre 2021 : 14h00

23 octobre 2021 : 19h30

L’écriture collective, l’autodétermination et l’interdépendance défendues par Joe Jack et John lui permettent d’aborder des questions sociales visant à faire entendre une parole peu écoutée. En empruntant aux vocabulaires des arts visuels et de la danse pour interroger la notion de norme sociale, la compagnie de théâtre performatif permet l’émergence de paroles intègres et libres, de même que la naissance de singularités esthétiques – comme celles d’artistes en situation de handicap. Cette posture politique unique permet à l’estimé Edon Descollines, par exemple, de mener de bout en bout le processus de création d’une œuvre en résidence. Artiste visuel, poète, danseur et acteur, le fertile créateur propose Le magasin ferme, une courte forme alliant performance, installation, spoken word, danse, vidéo et œuvres picturales. On s’y balade dans la mélancolie et la tristesse du quotidien, au cœur de la nostalgie d’une époque où les magasins, avant d’être confrontés au géant Internet, étaient le théâtre de rencontres, de possibles et d’échanges.


Crédits : Idéation, co-création et performance : Edon Descollines | Alliée créative, co-création et performance : Emma-Kate Guimond | Œil extérieur : Catherine Bourgeois | Conception sonore: Arthur Champagne | Conception lumières : Audrey-Anne Bouchard | Direction technique et régie: Audrey Belzile | Direction de production: Pénélope Bourque.

REPRÉSENTATIONS DÉCONTRACTÉES

Cette production fait partie de la programmation décontractée 21.22 de MAI. Une représentation décontractée désigne une représentation ouverte à tous, particulièrement aux personnes ayant un handicap sensoriel ou intellectuel, ou un trouble neurologique ou d’apprentissage, et aux personnes accompagnées de nouveau-nés. L’ambiance sonore et visuelle du spectacle ainsi que l’accueil seront adaptées pour créer un environnement calme et inclusif. Pour plus d’informations à ce sujet, contactez notre équipe de billetterie.

Avec le soutien du programme de résidences de MAI.