Roger White, Helen Simard

April 19 to 22, 2023

Because You Never Asked

© Looumms

Tiotia:ke / Mooniyang / Montréal

Interdisciplinairy / Sound / Dance

Presented in English

April 19, 2023: 7:30pm

April 20, 2023: 7:30pm

April 21, 2023: 7:30pm

April 22, 2023: 7:30pm

Because You Never Asked is a dreamlike realm where historical fact meets auto-fictional storytelling in a multilayered, intergenerational experience. Based on discussions between musician, composer, and record producer Roger White and his grandmother, Marianna Clark (née Goldmann), about her experiences fleeing Nazi Germany and arriving in the UK as a refugee, the piece combines texts mined from diaries and letters that Marianna wrote in her late teens and early 20s with the recordings of her speaking in her 90s. The story unfolds simultaneously on two different timelines, merging past and present, to explore how memories are constructed and reconstructed over time. Because You Never Asked is an archive of complex family history. One that is innocently painful, naïvely complex, and beautifully tragic.

With Helen Simard’s choreography, performed by David Albert-Toth, Marie Lévêque, Brianna Lombardo, and Maxine Segalowitz.

partnership

A production of We All Fall Down Interdisciplinary Creations, with the support of the MAI residency program.

crédit

Performers: David Albert-Toth, Brianna Lombardo, Maxine Segalowitz, Marie Lévêque | Technical Director and Lighting Designer : Tiffanie Boffa | Choreographer: Helen Simard | Rehearsal Director: Nindy Banks | Costume Designer: Tricia Crivellaro

about the box office

rates 22.23

regular | $28

reduced | $22 – seniors (65 and more) & students: upon presentation of a valid justification document. the discount applies to one (1) person and is not cumulative.

junior & groups | $16 – 14 years old and under, or group of ten (10) and more.

music | $22

accompanying person | $0 – accompanying persons for spectators with a disability. contact the box office for more information.

passeport 4/4 | $68 – four (4) performances of your choice for $68 instead of $112! one (1) ticket per person per performance. all four (4) performances must be booked in the same transaction. the passport is valid for the 21.22 programming only.

buy a passeport 4/4

Roger White, Helen Simard

19 au 22 avril 2023

Because You Never Asked

© Looumms

Tiotia:ke / Mooniyang / Montréal 

Interdisciplinaire / son / danse

Présenté en anglais

19 avril 2023 : 19h30

20 avril 2023 : 19h30

21 avril 2023 : 19h30

22 avril 2023 : 19h30

Because You Never Asked est un univers onirique où les faits historiques rencontrent le récit autofictionnel dans une expérience intergénérationnelle aux multiples épaisseurs. Basée sur des discussions entre le musicien, compositeur et producteur de disques Roger White et sa grand-mère, Marianna Clark (née Goldmann), à propos de sa fuite de l’Allemagne nazie vers le Royaume-Uni en tant que réfugiée, l’oeuvre juxtapose des extraits de journaux intimes et de lettres écrites par Marianna de l’adolescence au début de la vingtaine, avec des enregistrements captés lors de ses 90 ans. Un récit qui se joue simultanément sur deux lignes du temps différentes, fusionnant le passé et le présent pour explorer la façon dont les souvenirs sont construits et reconstruits au fil du temps. Because You Never Asked est l’archive d’une histoire familiale complexe. Une histoire innocemment douloureuse, naïvement complexe, et magnifiquement tragique.

Avec la chorégraphie d’Helen Simard, interprétée par David Albert-Toth, Marie Lévêque, Brianna Lombardo, et Maxine Segalowitz.

partenariat

Une production de We All Fall Down Interdisciplinary Creations, avec le soutien du programme de résidences de MAI.

credit

Interprètes : David Albert-Toth, Brianna Lombardo, Maxine Segalowitz, Marie Lévêque | Directrice technique et conceptrice des éclairages : Tiffanie Boffa | Chorégraphe : Helen Simard | Directrice des répétitions : Nindy Banks | Concepteur des costumes : Tricia Crivellaro

à propos de la billetterie

tarifs 22.23

régulier | 28 $

réduit | 22 $ – aînés (65 ans et plus) et étudiants : sur présentation d’un justificatif en cours de validité. La réduction s’applique à une (1) personne et n’est pas cumulable.

junior & groupes | 16 $ – 14 ans et moins, ou groupe de dix (10) personnes et plus.

musique | 22 $

accompagnateur-trice | 0 $ – accompagnateur-trice-s pour les spectateur-trice-s ayant un handicap. contactez la billetterie pour plus d’information.

passeport 4/4 | 68 $ – quatre (4) performances au choix pour 68$ plutôt que 112$ ! un (1) billet par personne par performance. les quatre (4) performances doivent être réservées au cours de la même transaction. le passeport est valide pour la programmation 21.22 uniquement.

acheter un passeport 4/4