Anh Vo

November 24 to 26, 2022

BABYLIFT

© Maria Baranova

Brooklyn / Hanoi 

Dance

Presented in English, with French subtitles

November 24, 2022: 7.30 pm

November 25, 2022: 7.30 pm

November 26, 2022: 7.30 pm

Anh Vo’s evening-length solo, BABYLIFT, attempts to conjure the ghosts of the Vietnam War (a.k.a. the Resistance War Against Imperialist America). Named after a 1975 mass evacuation of children from South Vietnam to Western countries—which resulted in a plane crash that killed 78 of those children— BABYLIFT is first a memorial to the unmourned and unremembered. Striving to queer linear masculinist history, Vo weaves together cultural memories of the US Civil Rights Movement, freedom fantasies of the 1960s, contemporary pop culture, and current leftist activism. Set to a disorienting soundscape, BABYLIFT juxtaposes repetitive ritualistic movements with sexually provocative gestures, speculating on the erotic of haunting that can be both terrifying and pleasurable.

Anh Vo is a Vietnamese dancer, writer, teacher, and activist. They create dances and produce texts about pornography and queer relations, about being and form, about identity and abstraction, about history and its colonial reality.

credit

Creative producer: Benedict Nguyen | Set Designer: Kyle b. co. | Sound Designer: Isaac Silber | Video: Yiyang Cao | Photos: Maria Baranova & Yekaterina Gyadu | Dramaturg: Blanca Ulloa

about the box office

rates 22.23

regular | $28

reduced | $22 – seniors (65 and more) & students: upon presentation of a valid justification document. the discount applies to one (1) person and is not cumulative.

junior & groups | $16 – 14 years old and under, or group of ten (10) and more.

music | $22

accompanying person | $0 – accompanying persons for spectators with a disability. contact the box office for more information.

passeport 4/4 | $68 – four (4) performances of your choice for $68 instead of $112! one (1) ticket per person per performance. all four (4) performances must be booked in the same transaction. the passport is valid for the 21.22 programming only.

buy a passeport 4/4

Anh Vo

24 au 26 novembre 2022

BABYLIFT

© Maria Baranova

Brooklyn / Hanoi 

Danse

Présenté en anglais, avec sous-titres français

24 novembre 2022 : 19h30

25 novembre 2022 : 19h30

26 novembre 2022 : 19h30

BABYLIFT est un solo d’Anh Vo qui tente d’évoquer les fantômes de la guerre du Vietnam (i.e. la guerre de résistance contre l’Amérique impérialiste). Intitulée d’après l’opération massive d’évacuation d’enfants sud-vietnamiens vers les pays de l’Ouest en 1975 – évacuation ayant abouti à la mort de 78 d’entre eux lors d’un écrasement d’avion – l’œuvre BABYLIFT est avant tout un monument à la mémoire de celleux qui ont été oublié·es sans jamais être commémoré·es. Cherchant à rendre plus queer l’histoire masculine linéaire, Vo tisse entre eux les souvenirs culturels du mouvement américain des droits civiques, les fantasmes de liberté des années 60, la culture populaire et l’activisme de gauche contemporains. Sur un fond sonore désorientant, BABYLIFT superpose des mouvements rituels répétitifs à des gestes sexuellement provocateurs, pour spéculer sur un érotisme de la hantise pouvant se révéler aussi terrifiant que plaisant.

Anh Vo est danseur·euse, écrivain·ne, enseignant·e et militant·e vietnamien·ne. Iel crée des danses et produit des textes au sujet de la pornographie et des relations queer, de l’être et de la forme, de l’identité et de l’abstraction, de l’histoire et de sa réalité coloniale.

crédit

Producteur créatif : Benedict Nguyen | Décorateur : Kyle b. co. | Concepteur du son : Isaac Silber | Vidéo : Yiyang Cao | Photos : Maria Baranova & Yekaterina Gyadu | Dramaturge : Blanca Ulloa

à propos de la billetterie

tarifs 22.23

régulier | 28 $

réduit | 22 $ – aînés (65 ans et plus) et étudiants : sur présentation d’un justificatif en cours de validité. La réduction s’applique à une (1) personne et n’est pas cumulable.

junior & groupes | 16 $ – 14 ans et moins, ou groupe de dix (10) personnes et plus.

musique | 22 $

accompagnateur-trice | 0 $ – accompagnateur-trice-s pour les spectateur-trice-s ayant un handicap. contactez la billetterie pour plus d’information.

passeport 4/4 | 68 $ – quatre (4) performances au choix pour 68$ plutôt que 112$ ! un (1) billet par personne par performance. les quatre (4) performances doivent être réservées au cours de la même transaction. le passeport est valide pour la programmation 21.22 uniquement.

acheter un passeport 4/4